Technical Approval

Serving quality in the construction sector

Technical Approvals, (ATG) cover unique, innovative and complex products and systems and aim at informing the Belgian construction sector that the construction product in which the product is being used, is fit for the intended use, is in accordance with the Belgian Works’ legislation and may be installed, incorporated, executed or assembled in accordance with the generally applicable Belgian state of the art and without undue risks. Products covered by technical approvals are always certified to ensure that the product specified in the technical approval text corresponds with the product that is placed on the Belgian market.

Supporting innovation

Big or small, innovations can have a significant impact on making the sector more competitive, but we do not want construction sites to be a real-time lab for testing new ideas. The construction sector needs support to use innovations with confidence. The UBAtc supports construction players by promoting the development of innovations, their access to the market and their acceptance by users.
Indeed, technical approval is mainly aimed at products which are not traditional, which are used in systems which are not traditional or which are installed, executed, incorporated or assembled using techniques or equipment that are not traditional.

Enhancing the reliability and credibility of innovative products:

Technical Approvals are a visible means of differentiating a product in the market and aims at giving confidence to specifiers, architects and designers and installers and assemblers.

Improving the general level of quality and performance in construction

Every client pursues the same objective: that his investment meets the expected performance and that it is sustainable. To do this, he wishes to work with competent and reliable partners (architects, designers and contractors) and use products and systems with the expected performance, so that the structure in which they are integrated offers adequate stability, safety in the event of fire, cleanliness and safety of use, sufficient acoustic and thermal comfort, that it is durable, has the least (negative) impact on the environment and that it presents a certain aesthetic quality.

The Technical Approval is issued on the basis of a thorough analytical examination by experts on the basis of a study of documents, an evaluation by tests or verification by calculations, site visits, an evaluation of references, audits or any other appropriate verification during which attention is paid to all elements that have a bearing on regulatory compliance and influence the fitness for use.

The different types of technical approvals

Over time, responding to the particular needs of the stakeholders in the sector, the UBAtc has developed different forms of technical approvals:

ATG/H

Technical product approval
Technical product approval is a specification which identifies the material, product or kit and presents its properties and performance, without determining the fitness for use for the intended use.
Generally, these are materials, products or kits that can be used in various applications or products that are not subject to special requirements for the use(s) for which they are intended.
Product approval is always accompanied by mandatory certification of the properties of the material, product or kit.

ATG/S

Technical approval for wood treatment plants
This is a favourable assessment issued to a company that operates a wood treatment plant for the conducting preservative treatments using products for which a technical approval ATG has been issued.
The Technical Approval is linked to certification of the process and the station.

ATG/M

Attestation of suitability for use for road marking
The products used in Belgium for the realization of road markings are the subject, for the basic products of the marking, of an ATG technical approval with certification or, for the sprinkling products, of a CE marking supplemented by a BENOR mark.
In addition to the requirements on these basic products, the markings, once applied by a contractor, must however also meet performance requirements during their warranty period.
Given that the behaviour of the markings throughout their service life on the road is highly dependent on the conditions of use and the possible combinations between the different constituents (base product and sprinkling product), it is necessary to be able to assess the durability of the performance of marking systems.
The attestation of suitability for use therefore constitutes a favourable assessment of the durability of the performance of a marking system.
The attestation of suitability for use and the classification are based on a road test programme carried out in accordance with the procedures set out in the Approval Guide G0025 "Marking systems - Field of road homologation" and NBN EN 1824 and NBN EN 1436 standards.

ATG/E

Energy characterization
The ATG-E aims to characterize products and systems within the framework of innovative construction concepts or innovative technologies, which can be used within the framework of regional regulations relating to the implementation of European Directive 2010/31/EU concerning the energy performance of buildings.
The ATG-E is limited to the characterization in terms of energy aspects, does not deal with any other technical characteristic and does not express itself on the specific or general fitness for use for the intended use.
As part of the quality surveillance of ATG-E, regular production control of the relevant energy properties of the components will be organized by the manufacturer, supplemented by external surveillance by a certification institute designated by the UBAtc.

ATG/D

Technical approval for the curative treatment of wood
This is a favourable assessment issued to a company that applies curative treatments in buildings, which offer a sustainable solution for wooden structures that undergo biological deterioration, either by larvae of xylophagous insects (D1 processes), or by moulds in wood (D2 processes).
The curative treatments, if necessary supplemented by sanitary measures and/or stability reinforcement, must constitute a preventive protection against a new biological deterioration of the treated wood.
A Technical Approval is only issued when the curative treatments are carried out with products for which an ATG has been issued.

BENOR/ATG

Technical Approval coupled with BENOR certification
There are a few cases where it has been considered opportune to work with both the ATG-mark and the BENOR-licence for one family of products (e.g. fire doors and slates). This generally indicates that some aspects relate to standards, while others are not standardised.
Scroll to Top

Find what you are
looking for

This simple search module allows you to find any information on the site, such as ATG, ETA or content in the pages of the site... All you have to do is enter a keyword, an ATG/ETA reference, a product name, a manufacturer or the domain of application...

This simple search module allows you to find any information on the site, such as ATG, ETA or content in the pages of the site... All you have to do is enter a keyword, an ATG/ETA reference, a product name, a manufacturer or the domain of application...

Agrément Technique

Au service de la qualité dans le domaine de la construction

Les Agréments Techniques (ATG) concernent des produits et systèmes uniques, innovants et complexes et visent à informer le secteur belge de la construction sur l’aptitude à l’emploi du produit de construction ou du système dans lequel le produit est utilisé pour l’application visée, sur sa conformité à la législation belge sur les travaux et sur sa possibilité d’installation, d’intégration, de mise en œuvre ou de montage conformément aux règles de l’art belges d’application générale et sans prise de risques inutiles.
Les produits sous agrément technique font toujours l’objet d’une certification afin de s’assurer que le produit mentionné dans le texte d’agrément technique corresponde à celui commercialisé sur le marché belge.

Soutenir l'innovation

Qu’elles soient grandes ou petites, les innovations peuvent avoir un impact significatif sur la compétitivité du secteur, mais nous ne voulons pas que les chantiers de construction soient un laboratoire en temps réel pour tester de nouvelles idées. Le secteur de la construction a besoin de soutien pour utiliser les innovations en toute confiance. L’UBAtc accompagne les acteurs de la construction en favorisant le développement des innovations, leur accès au marché et leur acceptation par les utilisateurs.
En effet, l’agrément technique vise principalement les produits qui ne sont pas traditionnels, qui sont utilisés dans des systèmes qui ne sont pas traditionnels ou qui sont installés, exécutés, incorporés ou assemblés à l’aide de techniques ou d’équipements non traditionnels.

Améliorant la fiabilité et la crédibilité des produits innovants

les Agréments Techniques sont un moyen visible de différencier un produit sur le marché et visent à donner confiance aux prescripteurs, architectes et concepteurs et installateurs et monteurs.

Améliorer le niveau général de qualité et de performance dans la construction

Tout maître d’ouvrage poursuit le même objectif : que son investissement satisfasse aux performances attendues et qu’il soit durable. Pour ce faire, il souhaite travailler avec des partenaires compétents et fiables (architectes, bureaux d’étude et entrepreneurs) et faire appel à des produits possédant les performances escomptées, afin que l’ouvrage dans lequel ils sont intégrés offre la stabilité adéquate, la sécurité en cas d’incendie, la salubrité et la sécurité d’utilisation, un confort acoustique et thermique suffisant, qu’il soit durable, ait le moins d’impacts (négatifs) sur l’environnement et qu’il présente une certaine qualité esthétique.

Un agrément est délivré sur base d’un examen analytique approfondi par des experts sur base d’une étude de documents, d’une évaluation par essais ou vérification par calculs, de visites des lieux, d’une évaluation des références, d’audits ou de toute autre vérification adaptée au cours de laquelle l’attention est payé à tous les éléments qui ont une incidence sur la conformité réglementaire et influencent l’aptitude à l’emploi.

Les différents types d'agréments techniques

Au fil du temps, répondant aux besoins particuliers des acteur du secteur, l’UBAtc a développé différentes formes d’agréments techniques :

ATG/H

Agrément Technique de produit
L’agrément technique de produit est une spécification qui identifie le matériau, produit ou kit et en présente les propriétés et les performances, indépendamment de l’aptitude pour l’application visée.
Généralement, il s’agit de matériaux, produits ou kits pouvant être utilisés dans diverses applications ou de produits ne faisant pas l’objet d’exigences particulières pour l'/les application(s) à laquelle/auxquelles ils sont destinés.
L’agrément de produit est accompagné d’une certification obligatoire des propriétés du matériau, du produit ou du kit.

ATG/S

Agrément Technique pour les stations de traitement du bois
Il s'agit d'une évaluation favorable délivrée à une entreprise qui exploite une station de traitement de bois pour l'exécution de traitements de préservation au moyen de produits pour lesquels un Agrément Technique ATG a été délivré.
L'agrément technique est lié à une certification du procédé et de la station.

ATG/M

Attestation d’aptitude à l’emploi pour marquage routier
Les produits utilisés en Belgique pour la réalisation des marquages routiers font l’objet, pour les produits de base du marquage, d’un agrément technique ATG avec certification ou, pour les produits de saupoudrage, d’un marquage CE complété par une marque BENOR.
En plus des exigences sur ces produits de base, les marquages, une fois appliqués par un entrepreneur, doivent également répondre à des exigences de performances durant leur délai de garantie.
Étant donné que le comportement ultérieur des marquages durant leur durée de vie sur route est fortement tributaire des conditions de mise en œuvre et des combinaisons possibles entre les différents constituants (produit de base et produit de saupoudrage), il est apparu nécessaire de pouvoir évaluer la durabilité des performances des systèmes de marquage.
L’attestation d’aptitude à l’emploi constitue à ce titre une évaluation favorable de la durabilité des performances d’un système de marquage.
L’attestation d’aptitude à l’emploi et la classification sont basées sur un programme d’essais sur route exécutés selon les modalités reprises dans le Guide d’agrément G0025 « Systèmes de marquage routiers – Champ d’homologation sur route » et des normes NBN EN 1824 et NBN EN 1436.

ATG/E

Caractérisation énergétique
L’ATG-E vise la caractérisation de produits et de systèmes dans le cadre de concepts de construction innovants ou de technologies innovantes, qui peut être utilisée dans le cadre des règlementations régionales relatives à l’implémentation de la Directive européenne 2010/31/UE concernant les performances énergétiques des bâtiments.
L’ATG-E se limite à la caractérisation sur le plan des aspects énergétiques, ne traite d’aucune autre caractéristique technique et ne s’exprime pas sur l’aptitude à l’emploi spécifique ou générale pour l’application visée.
Dans le cadre de la surveillance de qualité de l’ATG-E un contrôle de production régulier des propriétés énergétiques pertinentes des composants sera organisé par le fabricant, complété d’une surveillance externe par une institut de certification désigné par l’UBAtc.

ATG/D

Agrément Technique pour le traitement curatif du bois
Il s’agit d’une évaluation favorable délivrée à une entreprise qui applique des traitements curatifs dans les bâtiments, lesquels offrent une solution durable pour les structures en bois qui subissent une détérioration biologique, soit par des larves d'insectes xylophages (procédés D1), soit par des moisissures du bois (procédés D2).
Les traitements curatifs, le cas échéant complétés par des mesures sanitaires et/ou de renforcement de stabilité, doivent constituer une protection préventive contre une nouvelle détérioration biologique du bois traité.
L'agrément technique est seulement délivré lorsque les traitements curatifs se font avec des produits pour lesquels un ATG a été délivré.

BENOR/ATG

Agrément technique couplé à la certification BENOR
Il y a quelques cas où il a été jugé opportun de travailler à la fois avec la marque ATG et la licence BENOR pour une famille de produits (par exemple, portes coupe-feu et ardoises). Cela indique généralement que certains aspects sont liés aux normes, tandis que d'autres ne sont pas normalisés.
Retour haut de page

Trouvez ce que
vous cherchez

Ce simple module de recherche vous permet de retrouver n'importe quelle type d'information sur le site, que ce soit un ATG, un ETA ou du contenu dans les pages du site...Il vous suffit d'introduire un mot-clé, une référence ATG/ETA, un nom de produit, un fabricant ou un domaine d'application...

Ce simple module de recherche vous permet de retrouver n'importe quelle type d'information sur le site, que ce soit un ATG, un ETA ou du contenu dans les pages du site...Il vous suffit d'introduire un mot-clé, une référence ATG/ETA, un nom de produit, un fabricant ou un domaine d'application...

Trouvez ce que
vous cherchez

Ce simple module de recherche vous permet de retrouver n'importe quelle type d'information sur le site, que ce soit un ATG, un ETA ou du contenu dans les pages du site...Il vous suffit d'introduire un mot-clé, une référence ATG/ETA, un nom de produit, un fabricant ou un domaine d'application...

Ce simple module de recherche vous permet de retrouver n'importe quelle type d'information sur le site, que ce soit un ATG, un ETA ou du contenu dans les pages du site...Il vous suffit d'introduire un mot-clé, une référence ATG/ETA, un nom de produit, un fabricant ou un domaine d'application...