The technical approval process

Submission of an application, examination of the admissibility and confirmation of the admissibility

For particular products, variants to the Technical approval, ATG, have been developed to reply to the specific needs of subsectors of the construction sector (ATG/D, ATG-E, ATG/H, ATG/S and ATG-M).

A manufacturer wishing to obtain a Technical approval, or one of these variants, should submit an application.

Having received the application, the UBAtc secretariat will contact the applicant, confirming receipt of the application and providing him with a file reference (e.g. AG123412). This unique file reference prevents confusion when communicating about a given file.

Simultaneously, the UBAtc secretariat will contact the approval operator responsible for the technical domain that covers the application. Upon the verification performed by the approval operator, amongst others based on the applicant’s technical file, the UBAtc secretariat will inform the applicant through the declaration of admissibility:

  • Whether the product(s) in question may be examined by the approval operator and may lead to the issuing of a technical approval
  • The specialised group responsible for evaluating the file,
  • The costs for the technical approval*
  • The approval operator’s employee assigned to take care of the file

* Note: the costs for the Technical Approval are not the only costs that need to be taken into account. In addition to the Technical Approval costs, the following need to be taken into account:

  • Translation costs
  • Travel and accommodation costs (in case of production facilities outside Belgium)
  • The costs for the evaluation, in most cases testing, in accordance with the evaluation plan. These costs will be determined by the laboratory or laboratories that perform the evaluation
  • Costs for maintenance of the approval
  • Costs for certification. These will be set by the certification operator in charge of your file.

In order to obtain a total budget, it is advisable to contact the various providers, i.e. the UBAtc, the various laboratories for carrying out performance tests and the certification body. Any contact you may have with one of our experts before submitting your request may provide you with relevant information to determine a budget.


Having received the declaration of admissibility, the applicant should return the signed document to the UBAtc secretariat and the down payment.

The technical examination and development of the certification file

The signed declaration of admissibility having been returned to the UBAtc secretariat and the down payment paid to the approval operator, the approval operator will study the file and present an evaluation plan. This plan specifies which evaluations need to take place (mostly tests to determine properties and performances) and which information still needs to be made available by the applicant. The evaluation may be based on an approval guideline, but may also be established on a case-by-case basis.

Once the applicant and the approval operator agree upon the evaluation plan, the approval operator will visit the production facility or facilities. This visit may be performed by one or several persons, because the result of the visit will not only be used to establish the technical approval file, but will also be used as a basis to establish the certification contract. During this visit, the approval operator will perform sampling or have sampling performed under his responsibility. The applicant is responsible for ensuring that the necessary evaluation takes place. It is likely that the approval operator sets criteria with regards to the laboratory where the evaluation may take place (e.g. the laboratory will probably have to be accredited). In some cases, the approval operator may also require one or several site visits to see how the product or system is installed, executed, incorporated or assembled.

When the necessary inspections and evaluations have taken place, the approval operator will collect all the necessary reports and summarize those in an evaluation report. The evaluation report is the basis for the development of the (draft) technical approval text.
The (draft) technical approval text will be presented in a committee of experts with regards to the subject of the application (the operator’s executive board). This committee of independent experts treats all the information comprised in the evaluation report and the draft technical approval text confidentially. The outcome of discussions that take place in the executive board may lead to a favourable outcome, which means that the (draft) technical approval text will be presented to the operator’s specialized group, or may lead to further evaluation that needs to take place or additional information that the applicant needs to make available.
Once accepted by the executive board, the (draft) technical approval text will be scrutinised by the committee of representatives of the relevant stakeholders of the (sub)sector with regards to the subject of the application (the operator’s specialised group). This part of the process is an essential part of the technical evaluation, because here the work of the approval operator will be checked by external parties, ensuring that the subject of the application is fit for the intended use, is in accordance with the Belgian works’ legislation and may be installed, incorporated, executed or assembled in accordance with the generally applicable Belgian state of the art and without undue risks.

Publication, translation and continuous assessment and certification

Once the specialised group expressed a favourable opinion regarding the (draft) technical approval text, the text will be forwarded by the approval operator to the UBAtc secretariat. Having checked the document to ensure that its format satisfies the requirements of the UBAtc, the UBAtc secretariat will forward the text to the applicant for proof reading. Where necessary taking into account comments submitted by the applicant, the document is finally signed by the management of the approval operator and the UBAtc and published on the UBAtc website.

However, before submitting the (draft) technical approval text to the operator’s and UBAtc’s management for final approval, the certification operator needs to confirm that the certification contract was duly prepared, agreed between the operator and the applicant and signed. After all, certification is an integral part of the technical approval, ensuring that the product placed on the market corresponds with the product specified in the technical approval text.

To speed up the availability of the final technical approval text, the text will be published in one language version (Dutch or French), but the UBAtc secretariat will simultaneously submit that text for translation in the other language (and in English, if the applicant requested an English version as well). Publication of the final technical approval text in Dutch and French is obligatory.
In a number of sectors the concept of continuous assessment has already been introduced, in other sectors it is being introduced. Continuous assessment means that the approval holder does not have to apply for a renewal of his technical approval. Through regular contacts, the approval operator will ensure that the approval and certification files are being kept up-to-date, improving the text if and when necessary. Only in case of significant changes will a renewal request be necessary if continuous assessment is being applied.

Products covered by technical approvals are always certified to ensure that the product specified in the technical approval text corresponds with the product that is placed on the Belgian market. Therefore, before the final technical approval text is issued and published, the certification operator and the applicant need to agree a certification contract. This contract will specify where the certification operator will check the production facilities, what will be checked, whether tests need to be performed by the manufacturer and/or by an external laboratory and the frequencies of these checks and tests.

Scroll to Top

Find what you are
looking for

This simple search module allows you to find any information on the site, such as ATG, ETA or content in the pages of the site... All you have to do is enter a keyword, an ATG/ETA reference, a product name, a manufacturer or the domain of application...

This simple search module allows you to find any information on the site, such as ATG, ETA or content in the pages of the site... All you have to do is enter a keyword, an ATG/ETA reference, a product name, a manufacturer or the domain of application...

Le processus d'agrément technique

Introduction d'une demande, examen de la recevabilité et confirmation de la recevabilité

Des variantes de l’Agrément Technique ATG ont été développées pour certains produits particuliers, afin de répondre aux besoins spécifiques de sous-secteurs du secteur de la construction (ATG/D, ATG-E, ATG/H, ATG/S et ATG-M).

Un fabricant souhaitant obtenir un agrément technique, ou l’une de ces variantes, doit soumettre une demande.

Après avoir reçu la demande, le secrétariat de l’UBAtc contactera le demandeur, confirmant la réception de la demande et lui fournissant une référence de dossier (par exemple AG123412). Cette référence de fichier unique évite toute confusion lors de la communication sur un fichier donné.

Simultanément, le secrétariat de l’UBAtc prendra contact avec l’opérateur d’agrément responsable du domaine technique qui couvre la demande. Lors de la vérification effectuée par l’opérateur d’agrément, notamment sur la base du dossier technique du demandeur, le secrétariat de l’UBAtc donnera au demandeur par la déclaration de recevabilité les informations suivantes :

  • Le ou les produits en question peuvent-ils être examinés par l’opérateur et est-ce que cela peut conduire à la délivrance d’un agrément technique?
  • Le groupe spécialisé chargé d’évaluer le dossier,
  • Les frais de l’agrément technique*
  • L’employé de l’opérateur d’agrément chargé de prendre en charge le dossier

* Remarque: les frais de l’agrément technique ne sont pas les seuls coûts à prendre en compte. En plus des frais d’agrément technique, les éléments suivants doivent être pris en compte:

  • Les frais de traduction
  • Les frais de voyage et de séjour (en cas de lieux de production situés en dehors de la Belgique)
  • les coûts de l’évaluation, dans la plupart des cas des tests, conformément au plan d’évaluation. Ces coûts seront déterminés par le ou les laboratoires qui effectuent les essais
  • Les frais de maintien de l’agrément
  • Costs for certification. Ceux-ci seront définis par l’opérateur de certification en charge de votre dossier.

Afin d’obtenir un budget global, il est conseillé de prendre contact avec les différents prestataires, à savoir l’UBAtc, les différents laboratoires et l’opérateur de certification. Tout contact que vous pourriez avoir avec l’un de nos experts avant de soumettre votre demande peut vous fournir des informations pertinentes pour déterminer un budget.

Après avoir reçu la déclaration de recevabilité, le demandeur doit retourner le document signé au secrétariat de l’UBAtc et verser l’acompte.

L'examen technique et l'élaboration du dossier de certification

La déclaration de recevabilité signée ayant été renvoyée au secrétariat de l’UBAtc et l’acompte versé à l’opérateur d’agrément, l’opérateur étudiera le dossier et présentera un plan d’évaluation. Ce plan précise quelles évaluations doivent avoir lieu (principalement des essais pour déterminer les propriétés et les performances) et quelles informations doivent encore être mises à disposition par le demandeur. L’évaluation peut être basée sur un guide d’agrément, mais peut également être établie au cas par cas.

Une fois que le demandeur et l’opérateur d’agrément se sont mis d’accord sur le plan d’évaluation, l’opérateur d’agrément visitera la ou les installation(s) de production. Cette visite peut être effectuée par une ou plusieurs personnes, car le résultat de la visite ne servira pas seulement à établir le dossier d’agrément technique, mais servira également de base à l’établissement du contrat de certification. Lors de cette visite, l’opérateur d’agrément procédera à un échantillonnage ou fera réaliser un échantillonnage sous sa responsabilité. Le demandeur est responsable de prendre ses dispositions afin que l’évaluation nécessaire ait lieu. Il est probable que l’opérateur d’agrément fixe des critères en ce qui concerne le laboratoire où les essais peuvent avoir lieu (par exemple, le laboratoire devra probablement être accrédité). Dans certains cas, l’opérateur d’agrément peut également exiger une ou plusieurs visites sur site pour voir comment le produit ou le système est installé, exécuté, incorporé ou assemblé.

Lorsque les inspections et évaluations nécessaires ont eu lieu, l’opérateur d’agrément rassemblera tous les rapports nécessaires et les résumera dans un rapport d’évaluation. Le rapport d’évaluation est la base de l’élaboration du (projet) de texte d’agrément technique.
Le (projet) de texte d’agrément technique sera présenté dans un comité d’experts en ce qui concerne le sujet de la demande (le bureau exécutif de l’opérateur). Ce comité d’experts indépendants traite toutes les informations contenues dans le rapport d’évaluation et le projet de texte d’agrément technique de manière confidentielle. Le résultat des discussions qui ont lieu au sein du comité exécutif peut conduire à un résultat favorable, ce qui signifie que le (projet) de texte d’agrément technique sera présenté au groupe spécialisé de l’opérateur, ou peut conduire à une évaluation plus approfondie qui doit avoir lieu ou les informations que le demandeur doit mettre à disposition.
Une fois accepté par le bureau exécutif, le (projet) de texte d’agrément technique sera examiné par le comité des représentants des parties prenantes concernées du (sous) secteur en ce qui concerne l’objet de la demande (le groupe spécialisé de l’opérateur). Cette partie du processus est une partie essentielle de l’évaluation technique, car ici le travail de l’opérateur d’agrément sera vérifié par des parties externes, garantissant que l’objet de la demande est apte à l’usage prévue, est conforme à la législation belge pour les travaux de construction et peuvent être installés, incorporés, exécutés ou assemblés conformément aux règles d’art belge généralement applicables et sans risques excessifs.

Publication, traduction et évaluation continue et certification

Une fois que le groupe spécialisé a émis un avis favorable sur le (projet) de texte d’agrément technique, le texte sera transmis par l’opérateur d’agrément au secrétariat de l’UBAtc. Après avoir vérifié le document pour s’assurer que son format répond aux exigences de l’UBAtc, le secrétariat de l’UBAtc transmettra le texte au demandeur pour relecture. Le cas échéant, compte tenu des commentaires soumis par le demandeur, le document est finalement signé par la direction de l’opérateur d’agrément et l’UBAtc et publié sur le site Internet de l’UBAtc.

Cependant, avant de soumettre le (projet) de texte d’agrément technique à la direction de l’opérateur d’agrément et de l’UBAtc pour approbation finale, l’opérateur de certification doit confirmer que le contrat de certification a été dûment préparé, convenu entre l’opérateur et le demandeur et signé. En effet, la certification fait partie intégrante de l’agrément technique, garantissant que le produit mis sur le marché correspond au produit spécifié dans le texte de l’agrément technique.

Pour accélérer la disponibilité du texte final d’agrément technique, le texte sera publié dans une version linguistique (néerlandais ou français), mais le secrétariat de l’UBAtc soumettra simultanément ce texte pour traduction dans l’autre langue (et en anglais, si le demandeur en exprime le souhait). La publication du texte d’agrément technique final en néerlandais et en français est obligatoire.
Dans un certain nombre de secteurs, le concept “d’évaluation continue” a déjà été introduit, dans d’autres secteurs, c’est en courst. L’évaluation continue signifie que le titulaire de l’agrément n’a pas à demander le renouvellement de son agrément technique. Grâce à des contacts réguliers, l’opérateur d’agrément s’assurera que les dossiers d’agrément et de certification sont tenus à jour, en améliorant le texte si et lorsque cela est nécessaire. Ce n’est qu’en cas de changements importants qu’une demande de renouvellement sera nécessaire si l’évaluation continue est appliquée.

Les produits sous agrément technique font toujours l’objet d’une certification afin de s’assurer que le produit mentionné dans le texte d’agrément technique corresponde à celui commercialisé sur le marché belge. Par conséquent, avant que le texte d’agrément technique final ne soit délivré et publié, l’opérateur de certification et le demandeur doivent convenir d’un contrat de certification. Ce dernier précisera la localisation des installations de production à vérifier, le contenus des contrôles et les éventuels essais à réaliser par le fabricant et/ou par un laboratoire externe ainsi que les fréquences de ces contrôles et essais.

Retour haut de page

Find what you are
looking for

This simple search module allows you to find any information on the site, such as ATG, ETA or content in the pages of the site... All you have to do is enter a keyword, an ATG/ETA reference, a product name, a manufacturer or the domain of application...

This simple search module allows you to find any information on the site, such as ATG, ETA or content in the pages of the site... All you have to do is enter a keyword, an ATG/ETA reference, a product name, a manufacturer or the domain of application...

Trouvez ce que
vous cherchez

Ce simple module de recherche vous permet de retrouver n'importe quelle type d'information sur le site, que ce soit un ATG, un ETA ou du contenu dans les pages du site...Il vous suffit d'introduire un mot-clé, une référence ATG/ETA, un nom de produit, un fabricant ou un domaine d'application...

Ce simple module de recherche vous permet de retrouver n'importe quelle type d'information sur le site, que ce soit un ATG, un ETA ou du contenu dans les pages du site...Il vous suffit d'introduire un mot-clé, une référence ATG/ETA, un nom de produit, un fabricant ou un domaine d'application...