Information for the User

The technical approval, ATG: Instilling confidence

The Technical Approval, ATG, is an instrument intended to facilitate acceptance of the product or system covered by the approval, by the Belgian construction sector (insurers, works’ inspection bodies, …) and in particular, by the specifiers (public procurers and architects) and contractors (installers, assemblers). Applying for a Technical Approval, ATG, is a voluntary initiative taken by the holder of the Technical approval, there is no legal requirement that requires products to be covered by a Technical Approval, ATG.
Technical Approvals, ATG, covered unique, innovative and complex products and systems.
Technical approval holders subject their products and systems to an approval and certification process, because they want to inform the Belgian construction sector that the product or system in which the product is being used, is fit for the intended use, is in accordance with the Belgian Works’ legislation and may be installed, incorporated, executed or assembled in accordance with the generally applicable Belgian state of the art and without undue risks and they permit an independent third party to certify their products, ensuring that the product specified in the technical approval text corresponds with the product that is placed on the Belgian market.

A product is not or no longer covered by a technical approval

Applying for a Technical Approval, ATG, is a voluntary initiative taken by the applicant. There is no legal requirement that requires products to be covered by a Technical Approval, ATG.
Technical approval holders subject their products and systems to an approval and certification process, because they want to inform the Belgian construction sector that the product or system in which the product is being used, is fit for the intended use, is in accordance with the Belgian Works’ legislation and may be installed, incorporated, executed or assembled in accordance with the generally applicable Belgian state of the art and without undue risks and they permit an independent third party to certify their products, ensuring that the product specified in the technical approval text corresponds with the product that is placed on the Belgian market.
If a product is not covered by a technical approval, it is possible that the manufacturer simply does not consider it necessary to apply for one, considers the costs involved too important or that the product is considered to be a traditional product and is consequently subjected to the certification rules for the BENOR-mark.

Even if a product is no longer covered by a technical approval, this does not necessarily mean that the product is no longer fit for the intended use. It is possible that the manufacturer decided to end the certification contract with the certification operator, because he considered that the costs or efforts were too significant.
If a product is not or no longer covered by a technical approval, we suggest users to contact the manufacturer and question him on this subject.

Types of technical approvals

For particular products, variants to the Technical approval, ATG, have been developed to reply to the specific needs of subsectors of the construction sector (ATG/D, ATG-E, ATG/H, ATG/S and ATG-M).

Use of the ATG-mark

Technical approval holders may use the ATG-mark on their products, on a label attached to the product, on the packaging of the product or on a commercial document accompanying the product on delivery. Use of the logos of these marks must comply with the rules set out in the Regulations governing the use and control of the ATG figurative mark.

The ATG-mark has been protected and the UBAtc and its operators monitor the market, preventing misuse of the ATG-mark. After all, it is necessary to ensure that the investment of technical approval holders is rewarded. We are committed to taking legal action against persons or organizations that misuse the ATG-mark.

A product covered by a technical approval does not meet expectations

Products covered by technical approvals are subjected to a rigorous approval process and to certification. Nevertheless, it does happen that products covered by technical approvals fail to satisfy users’ expectations.
The UBAtc is an independent third party providing a service to the approval holders and to the construction sector, by issuing technical approval texts. UBAtc is not responsible for the individual products manufactured by the approval holder and not for its use on individual construction sites.
Therefore, in case products covered by a technical approval do not meet expectations, users should first contact the manufacturer concerned. In case users are of the opinion that the products concerned do not correspond with the product specified in the technical approval, we ask you to contact the UBAtc secretariat.

Where can I find invalid technical approvals

On the UBAtc website, you will only find technical approval that are valid and those that are being reviewed. To prevent confusion and misuse, invalid technical approvals are withdrawn from the UBAtc website. Nevertheless, we are regularly confronted with actors in the sector that want to consult withdrawn approvals.

If you want to consult withdrawn technical approvals, a request should be submitted to the UBAtc secretariat, providing the following information (as far as known): reference of the technical approval, the version that you want to consult, name of the manufacturer and trade name of the product or system.

Circulation of construction products on the EU internal market, without barriers to trade

The European Technical Assessment, ETA, is a legal instrument created by the European Construction Products Regulation (Regulation (EU) N° 305/2011). It is an alternative route for manufacturers to obtain the right to draw up and make available a declaration of performance, permitting the manufacturer to affix the CE marking on to his product. If CE marked, the product may circulate in the European Union internal market. In short, the European Technical Assessment provides access to the European market.

Once a European Technical Assessment has been issued, the manufacturer needs to demonstrate conformity of the products placed on the market with the ETA. How this needs to be done, depends on the conformity assessment system that applies for the product. This may be self-assessment, but may also be certification by a notified body.

Applying for a European Technical Assessment, ETA, is only possible if the product is not (yet) covered by a European harmonised standard. European Technical Assessments, ETA, cover products that deviate from the scope of European harmonised standards.

Applying for an ETA is a voluntary initiative taken by the applicant. There is no legal requirement that requires products to be covered by a European Technical Assessment, ETA.

Can a product be covered by an ATG and an ETA?

The Technical approval, ATG, and the European Technical Assessment, ETA, are complementary schemes, with different objectives.
The Technical approval, ATG, provides market acceptance by the Belgian construction sector, the European Technical Assessment, ETA, provides market access in the European Union.
Consequently, it is possible for a product to be covered by a European Technical Assessment, ETA, and by a Technical approval, ATG.

Specifying a technical approval, ATG, in works specifications

Specifiers, architects and designers can simply specify in the construction works specifications that for the materials, products or systems “valid technical approval, ATG, have been issued by the UBAtc in accordance with the UBAtc’s General Approval and Certification Regulations, at the time of the quotation or the execution of the works. If the validity of the ATG is being questioned, the data provided on the front page of the technical approval text is decisive. The scope of the ATG comprises the intended use of the material, product or system in the works specifications. All conditions included in the approval are met.”  

If it is necessary that specific performances and/or functional requirements are met by the technical approval, the works specifications may specify “The technical approval explicitly approves the following requirements: …”.

If the law on public procurement applies, the following should be added: 

  • In the case of a contract for which the estimated value is lower than the applicable threshold for European disclosure: “Reference is made to the ATG-mark, in implementation of Article 54, § 1, of the Law of 17 June 2016 on public contracts, which complies with all conditions stated in the latter provision. In particular, the requirements with regards to the mark only relate to criteria related to the subject of the contract and are suitable for the specification of the characteristics of the works that are the subject of the contract. However, other suitable means of proof are always taken into account, insofar as they demonstrate that requirements concerning the specific mark or specific requirements have been met.”; 
  • In the case of a contract for which the estimated value is equal to or higher than the relevant threshold of the European notice: “The ATG-mark is required in implementation of Article 54, § 1, of the Law of 17 June 2016 on public contracts and complies with all the conditions stated in this last provision, in particular, the mark requirements only relate to criteria related to the subject of the contract and are suitable for the description of the characteristics of the works that are the subject of the contract.”.
Scroll to Top

Find what you are
looking for

This simple search module allows you to find any information on the site, such as ATG, ETA or content in the pages of the site... All you have to do is enter a keyword, an ATG/ETA reference, a product name, a manufacturer or the domain of application...

This simple search module allows you to find any information on the site, such as ATG, ETA or content in the pages of the site... All you have to do is enter a keyword, an ATG/ETA reference, a product name, a manufacturer or the domain of application...

Informations pour l’utilisateur

L’Agrément Technique ATG inspire confiance

L’Agrément Technique ATG est un instrument destiné à faciliter l’acceptation du produit ou système relevant de l’agrément par le secteur belge de la construction (assureurs, services d’inspection de la construction…) et en particulier par les prescripteurs (adjudicateurs publics et architectes) et les entrepreneurs (installateurs, monteurs). La demande d’un Agrément Technique ATG constitue une initiative volontaire du titulaire d’agrément, aucune disposition légale ne prescrit l’obligation, pour un produit, de faire l’objet d’un Agrément Technique ATG.
Les Agréments Techniques ATG concernent des produits et systèmes uniques, innovants et complexes.
Les Titulaires d’agrément soumettent leurs produits et systèmes à une procédure d’agrément et de certification dans la volonté d’informer le secteur belge de la construction sur l’aptitude à l’emploi du produit ou du système dans lequel le produit est utilisé pour l’application visée, sur sa conformité à la législation belge sur les travaux et sur sa possibilité d’installation, d’intégration, de mise en œuvre ou de montage conformément aux règles de l’art belges d’application générale et sans prise de risques inutiles. Ils permettent qu’un tiers indépendant certifie leurs produits, de sorte que le produit visé dans le texte de l’agrément technique corresponde au produit commercialisé sur le marché belge.

Un produit ne fait pas ou plus l’objet d'un agrément technique

La demande d’agrément technique, ATG, est une initiative volontaire prise par le demandeur. Il n’y a pas d’exigence légale qui oblige les produits à être couverts par un Agrément Technique, ATG.
Les Titulaires d’agrément soumettent leurs produits et systèmes à une procédure d’agrément et de certification dans la volonté d’informer le secteur belge de la construction sur l’aptitude à l’emploi du produit ou du système dans lequel le produit est utilisé pour l’application visée, sur sa conformité à la législation belge sur les travaux et sur sa possibilité d’installation, d’intégration, de mise en œuvre ou de montage conformément aux règles de l’art belges d’application générale et sans prise de risques inutiles. Ils permettent qu’un tiers indépendant certifie leurs produits, de sorte que le produit visé dans le texte de l’agrément technique corresponde au produit commercialisé sur le marché belge.
Il est parfaitement possible qu’un produit ne fasse l’objet d’aucun agrément technique. Le fabricant n’estime peut-être pas nécessaire d’en faire la demande ou juge les frais qui s’y rapportent trop élevés. Une autre raison peut être que le produit est considéré comme un produit traditionnel, dès lors soumis aux règles de certification applicables pour la marque BENOR.

Même lorsqu’un produit ne relève plus d’un agrément technique, cela ne signifie pas nécessairement que le produit ne convient plus pour l’utilisation visée. Il est possible que le fabricant ait décidé de mettre un terme à la convention de certification avec l’opérateur de certification, ayant estimé les frais ou les efforts trop élevés.
Lorsqu’un produit n’est plus sous agrément technique, nous recommandons aux utilisateurs de prendre contact avec le fabricant et de l’interroger à ce propos.

Différents types d’agréments techniques

Des variantes de l’Agrément Technique ATG ont été développées pour certains produits particuliers, afin de répondre aux besoins spécifiques de sous-secteurs du secteur de la construction (ATG/D, ATG-E, ATG/H, ATG/S et ATG-M).

Utilisation de la marque ATG

Les titulaires d’Agréments Techniques peuvent utiliser la marque ATG (et l’apposer) sur leurs produits par l’intermédiaire d’une étiquette appliquée sur le produit, sur l’emballage du produit ou sur un document de commercialisation accompagnant le produit lors de sa livraison. L’utilisation des logos de ces marques doit être conforme aux règles exposées dans le Règlement d’usage et de contrôle de la marque figurative ATG.

The ATG-mark has been protected and the UBAtc and its operators monitor the market, preventing misuse of the ATG-mark. After all, it is necessary to ensure that the investment of technical approval holders is rewarded. We are committed to taking legal action against persons or organizations that misuse the ATG-mark.

Un produit sous agrément technique n’est pas conforme aux attentes

Les produits sous agréments techniques sont soumis à une procédure sévère d’agrément et de certification. Néanmoins, il arrive que des produits sous agréments techniques ne répondent pas aux attentes des utilisateurs.
L’UBAtc est un tiers indépendant qui assure un service aux titulaires d’agrément et au secteur de la construction en délivrant des textes d’agrément technique. L’UBAtc n’est responsable ni des produits spécifiques fabriqués par le titulaire d’agrément ni de leur utilisation dans des chantiers spécifiques.
Lorsqu’un produit sous agrément technique ne répond pas aux attentes, il est donc préférable que les utilisateurs prennent d’abord contact avec le fabricant concerné. Si des utilisateurs estiment que les produits concernés ne correspondent pas au produit repris dans l’agrément technique, nous les invitons à prendre contact avec le Secrétariat de l’UBAtc.

Où puis-je retrouver des agréments techniques non valables ?

Le site Internet de l’UBAtc reprend les seuls agréments techniques valables, ainsi que ceux qui sont en révision. Pour éviter toute confusion ou malentendu, les agréments techniques non valables sont supprimés du site Internet de l’UBAtc. Néanmoins, nous sommes régulièrement confrontés à des acteurs du secteur désireux de consulter des agréments supprimés.

Si vous souhaitez consulter des agréments techniques supprimés, nous vous invitons à en formuler la demande auprès du Secrétariat de l’UBAtc en indiquant les informations suivantes (pour autant que vous en disposiez) : référence de l’agrément technique, version que vous souhaitez consulter, nom du fabricant et dénomination commerciale du produit ou système.

Circulation de produits de construction sur le marché interne de l’UE, sans entraves commerciales

L’Évaluation Technique Européenne ETA est un instrument légal créé par le Règlement européen « Produits de Construction » (Règlement (UE) n° 305/2011). Elle offre une solution alternative aux fabricants pour l’obtention du droit d’établissement et de mise à disposition d’une déclaration des performances, permettant au fabricant d’apposer le marquage CE sur son produit. S’il dispose du marquage CE, le produit peut être distribué sur le marché intérieur de l’Union européenne. En bref, l’Évaluation Technique Européenne ouvre l’accès au marché européen.

Lorsqu’une Évaluation Technique Européenne ETA a été délivrée, il appartient au fabricant d’établir la conformité des produits commercialisé à l’ETA. La modalisation de cette obligation dépend du système d’évaluation de la conformité applicable au produit. Il peut s’agir d’un autocontrôle, mais également d’une certification assurée par un organisme notifié.

Une Évaluation Technique Européenne ETA peut être demandée uniquement si le produit ne relève pas (encore) d’une norme harmonisée européenne. Les Évaluations Techniques Européennes ETA concernent des produits s’écartant du champ d’application des normes harmonisées européennes.

La demande d’un ETA constitue une initiative volontaire du demandeur. Aucune disposition légale ne prescrit l’obligation, pour un produit, de faire l’objet d’une Évaluation Technique européenne ETA.

Un produit peut-il faire l'objet à la fois d'un ATG et d'un ETA ?

L’Agrément Technique ATG et l’Évaluation Technique Européenne ETA sont des systèmes complémentaires, qui présentent chacun un objectif différent.
Tandis que l’Agrément Technique ATG donne lieu à une acceptation sur le marché de la part du secteur belge de la construction, l’Évaluation Technique Européenne ETA ménage un accès au marché au sein de l’Union européenne.
Par conséquent, un même produit peut faire l’objet à la fois d’une Évaluation Technique Européenne ETA et d’un Agrément Technique ATG.

Spécification d'un agrément technique, ATG, dans un cahier des charges

Les prescripteurs, architectes et concepteurs peuvent simplement spécifier dans le cahier des charges des travaux de construction que pour les matériaux, produits ou systèmes « un agrément technique valide, ATG, a été délivré par l’UBAtc conformément au règlement général d’approbation et de certification de l’UBAtc, au moment de la devis ou l’exécution des travaux. Si la validité de l’ATG est mise en doute, les données fournies en première page du texte d’agrément technique sont déterminantes. Le champ d’application de l’ATG comprend l’usage prévue du matériau, du produit ou du système dans les spécifications des travaux. Toutes les conditions incluses dans l’agrément sont remplies. »

S’il est nécessaire que des performances spécifiques et/ou des exigences fonctionnelles soient satisfaites par l’agrément technique, le cahier des charges peut spécifier « L’agrément technique approuve explicitement les exigences suivantes: … ».

Si la loi sur les marchés publics s’applique, il convient d’ajouter les éléments suivants:

  • Dans le cas d’un contrat dont la valeur estimée est inférieure au seuil applicable pour la divulgation européenne: « Référence est faite à la marque ATG, en application de l’article 54, § 1, de la loi du 17 juin 2016 relative au public contrats, qui remplit toutes les conditions énoncées dans cette dernière disposition. En particulier, les exigences relatives à la marque ne concernent que des critères liés à l’objet du contrat et sont adaptées à la spécification des caractéristiques des travaux qui font l’objet. Toutefois, d’autres moyens de preuve appropriés sont toujours pris en compte, dans la mesure où ils démontrent que les exigences concernant la marque spécifique ou les exigences spécifiques ont été satisfaites. »;
  • Dans le cas d’un contrat dont la valeur estimée est égale ou supérieure au seuil pertinent de l’avis européen: « La marque ATG est requise en application de l’article 54, § 1, de la loi du 17 juin 2016 marchés publics et satisfait à toutes les conditions énoncées dans cette dernière disposition, en particulier, les exigences de marque ne concernent que des critères liés à l’objet du marché et sont adaptées à la description des caractéristiques des travaux faisant l’objet du contrat. ».
Retour haut de page

Find what you are
looking for

This simple search module allows you to find any information on the site, such as ATG, ETA or content in the pages of the site... All you have to do is enter a keyword, an ATG/ETA reference, a product name, a manufacturer or the domain of application...

This simple search module allows you to find any information on the site, such as ATG, ETA or content in the pages of the site... All you have to do is enter a keyword, an ATG/ETA reference, a product name, a manufacturer or the domain of application...

Trouvez ce que
vous cherchez

Ce simple module de recherche vous permet de retrouver n'importe quelle type d'information sur le site, que ce soit un ATG, un ETA ou du contenu dans les pages du site...Il vous suffit d'introduire un mot-clé, une référence ATG/ETA, un nom de produit, un fabricant ou un domaine d'application...

Ce simple module de recherche vous permet de retrouver n'importe quelle type d'information sur le site, que ce soit un ATG, un ETA ou du contenu dans les pages du site...Il vous suffit d'introduire un mot-clé, une référence ATG/ETA, un nom de produit, un fabricant ou un domaine d'application...