European Technical Assessment

The route to the declaration of performance and CE marking

If you wish to market your product in one or several European Union member states, obtaining a European Technical Assessment, ETA, may be sensible. Having an ETA for your product permits you to draw up a declaration of performance (the ‘DoP’) and CE mark your product. Applying for an ETA is particularly relevant, if your product is innovative or unique or your construction product or system is complex.

The European Technical Assessment, ETA

The European Technical Assessment, ETA, is a legal instrument created by the European Construction Products Regulation (Regulation (EU) N° 305/2011). It is an alternative route for manufacturers to obtain the right to draw up and make available a declaration of performance, permitting the manufacturer to affix the CE marking on to his product. If CE marked, the product may circulate in the European Union internal market. In short, the European Technical Assessment provides access to the European market.
Once a European Technical Assessment has been issued, the manufacturer needs to demonstrate conformity of the products placed on the market with the ETA. How this needs to be done, depends on the conformity assessment system that applies for the product. This may be self-assessment, but may also be certification by a notified body.
Applying for a European Technical Assessment, ETA, is only possible if the product is not (yet) covered by a European harmonised standard. European Technical Assessments, ETA, cover products that deviate from the scope of European harmonised standards.
Applying for an ETA is a voluntary initiative taken by the applicant. There is no legal requirement that requires products to be covered by a European Technical Assessment, ETA.
The European Technical Assessment, ETA, is a means of gaining access to all European Union countries, but it does not guarantee that the users in those countries will have sufficient information and confidence to use your product.

What needs to be known when applying for a European Technical Assessment

When applying for a European Technical Assessment, it is important for the applicant to know

  • Where the product is being made, whether the product’s properties and performances are being checked through a factory production control system and whether the applicant is able to permit the UBAtc’s operators to access the production facilities
  • Which materials or components the product is made out of
  • How the product should be installed, incorporated, executed or assembled and whether other products (possibly marketed by other suppliers) are necessary to install, incorporate, execute or assemble the product

The European Technical Assessment concerns the product as placed on the market. Therefore, information regarding installation, incorporation, execution or assembly and design may be less extensive.

European Assessment Documents

The European Assessment Documents (EAD) are available on the website of EOTA (European Organization for Technical Assessment).

The European Technical Assessment must be maintained

UBAtc’s regulation specifies that for European Technical Assessments issued by UBAtc, the ETA-holder must inform UBAtc immediately when:

  • the content of the issued European Technical Assessment does not any longer correspond to the product-type.
  • the subject of the European Technical Assessment does no longer comply with legal and regulatory provisions and/or that the product no longer complies with the provisions of the European Technical Assessment

Consequently, the UBAtc may withdraw the European Technical Assessment text from the UBAtc website and consider the European Technical Assessment as having been withdrawn by the ETA-holder.
Unless the ETA-holder requests the continued publication on the UBAtc website, the UBAtc will withdraw ETA texts from its list of issued European Technical Assessments 5 years after the issuing thereof.

Where can you use a European Technical Assessment?

The Agreement on the European Economic Area, in force since 1 January 1994, covers all Union harmonization legislation, including the Construction Products Regulation.
A European Technical Assessment is therefore applicable in

  • the Member States of the European Union: Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Spain, Czech Republic and Sweden; and
  • the member states of the European Free Trade Association: Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

Bilateral trade in products between the European Union and Monaco, San Marino and Andorra is conducted according to customs union agreements: Monaco has a customs union with France and is part of the customs territory of the European Union; San Marino and Andorra both have customs union agreements with the European Union. Turkey and the European Union established a customs union in 1995. In 2006, the European Union – Turkey Association Council adopted a decision designating the Turkish Notified Bodies and recognizing the test reports and certificates issued by these bodies in Turkey. The parties have signed statements confirming that Turkish legislation is equivalent to that of the European Union for a number of New Approach directives and regulations, including the Construction Products Regulation. The Mutual Recognition Scheme concluded with Switzerland, which entered into force on 1 June 2002, is a comprehensive agreement based on the equivalence of Swiss and EU law, which also makes the Swiss Construction Products Regulation applicable.

What about Canada?

All products imported into and marketed in the European Union must comply with European Union technical regulations, regardless of the European Union’s preferential trade regimes or trade agreements with third countries. The Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement between the European Union and Canada (CETA), which partially entered into force on 21 September 2017, therefore does not provide for automatic equivalence of technical regulations. Construction products placed on the European market must meet European requirements, just as products sold in the Canadian market must meet Canadian requirements. However, the CETA protocol allows designated European certification bodies to certify against Canadian requirements and assess designated Canadian certification bodies (Notified Bodies) for European ones. In short, a European Technical Assessment is not valid in Canada.

What about the United Kingdom?

The situation following the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the European Union creates a complex situation. That is why we have paid special attention to this in the articles below.

The United Kingdom has left the EU Single Market and Customs Union

Since 1 January 2021, the United Kingdom left the EU Single Market and Customs Union. As a result, the United Kingdom will no longer benefit from the principle of free movement of goods in the EU Single Market. Even with the new EU-UK Trade and Cooperation Agreement in place, manufacturers will face new trade barriers.

Consequences of the UK leaving the EU Single market and Customs Union for the conformity marking of construction products

Following the end of the transition period on 31/12/2020, there will be three different product marks that manufacturers, and others in the supply chain, may need to apply. The rules governing these marks will depend on where the product is intended to be used...

Did you know?

The Treaty and Union harmonization legislation apply to all Member States of the European Union, including Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique, Réunion, Saint-Martin, the Azores, Madeira and the Canary Islands.
However, the legislation does not apply to the Faroe Islands, Greenland, Akrotiri and Dhekelia, nor to those overseas countries and territories with special relations with the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, such as Gibraltar.
Union harmonization legislation does not apply to overseas countries and territories, in particular: New Caledonia and Dependencies, French Polynesia, French Southern and Antarctic Territories, Wallis and Futuna, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Saint Barthélemy, Aruba, Curaçao , Saint Martin, Caribbean Netherlands (Bonaire, Saba and Saint Eustatius), Anguilla, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, Montserrat, Pitcairn Islands, Saint Helena and Dependencies, British Antarctica, British Indian Ocean Territory, Turks and Caicos Islands, British Virgin Islands, Bermuda.

Scroll to Top

Find what you are
looking for

This simple search module allows you to find any information on the site, such as ATG, ETA or content in the pages of the site... All you have to do is enter a keyword, an ATG/ETA reference, a product name, a manufacturer or the domain of application...

This simple search module allows you to find any information on the site, such as ATG, ETA or content in the pages of the site... All you have to do is enter a keyword, an ATG/ETA reference, a product name, a manufacturer or the domain of application...

Évaluation Technique Européenne

La voie vers la déclaration des performances et le marquage CE

Si vous souhaitez commercialiser votre produit dans un ou plusieurs États membres de l’Union européenne, obtenir une évaluation technique européenne, ETE, peut être judicieux. Avoir un ETE pour votre produit vous permet d’établir une déclaration de performance (la «DoP») et de marquer CE de votre produit. La demande d’ETE est particulièrement pertinente si votre produit est innovant ou unique ou si votre produit ou système de construction est complexe.

L’Évaluation Technique Européenne

L’Évaluation Technique Européenne ETA est un instrument légal créé par le Règlement européen « Produits de Construction » (Règlement (UE) n° 305/2011). Elle offre une solution alternative aux fabricants pour l’obtention du droit d’établissement et de mise à disposition d’une déclaration des performances, permettant au fabricant d’apposer le marquage CE sur son produit. S’il dispose du marquage CE, le produit peut être distribué sur le marché intérieur de l’Union européenne. En bref, l’Évaluation Technique Européenne ouvre l’accès au marché européen.
Lorsqu’une Évaluation Technique Européenne ETA a été délivrée, il appartient au fabricant d’établir la conformité des produits commercialisé à l’ETA. La modalisation de cette obligation dépend du système d’évaluation de la conformité applicable au produit. Il peut s’agir d’un autocontrôle, mais également d’une certification assurée par un organisme notifié.
Une Évaluation Technique Européenne ETA peut être demandée uniquement si le produit ne relève pas (encore) d’une norme harmonisée européenne. Les Évaluations Techniques Européennes ETA concernent des produits s’écartant du champ d’application des normes harmonisées européennes.
La demande d’un ETA constitue une initiative volontaire du demandeur. Aucune disposition légale ne prescrit l’obligation, pour un produit, de faire l’objet d’une Évaluation Technique européenne ETA.
L’Évaluation Technique Européenne, ETE, est un moyen d’accéder à tous les pays de l’Union européenne, mais sans garantie que les utilisateurs de ces pays disposeront d’informations et d’une confiance suffisantes pour utiliser votre produit.

Ce qu’il faut savoir lors d’une demande d’évaluation technique européenne

Lors de la demande d’une Évaluation Technique Européenne, il est important pour le demandeur de savoir :

  • Où le produit est fabriqué, si les propriétés et les performances du produit sont vérifiées par le biais d’un système de contrôle de la production en usine et si le demandeur est en mesure de permettre l’accès des opérateurs de l’UBAtc aux installations de production.
  • À partir de quels matériaux ou composants le produit est fabriqué
  • De quelle manière il convient d’assurer l’installation, l’intégration, la mise en œuvre ou le montage du produit et si d’autres produits (éventuellement commercialisés par d’autres fournisseurs) sont nécessaires pour assurer l’installation, l’intégration, la mise en œuvre ou le montage du produit.

L’Évaluation Technique Européenne concerne le produit tel que commercialisé. C’est pourquoi les informations relatives à l’installation, à l’intégration, à la mise en œuvre ou au montage et à la conception peuvent être moins développées.

Documents d'Évaluation Européenne

Les documents d’évaluation européenne (EAD – European Assessment Documents) sont consultables sur le site de l’EOTA (European Organisation for Technical Assessment).

L’Évaluation Technique Européenne doit être maintenue

Le règlement de l’UBAtc précise que pour les Évaluations Techniques Européennes émises par l’UBAtc, le titulaire de l’ETA doit informer immédiatement l’UBAtc lorsque:

  • le contenu de l’Évaluation Technique Européenne publiée ne correspond plus au produit-type
  • l’objet de l’Évaluation Technique Européenne ne répond plus aux dispositions légales et réglementaires et/ou le produit n’est plus conforme aux dispositions de l’Évaluation Technique Européenne

Par conséquent, l’UBAtc peut retirer le texte d’Évaluation Technique Européenne du site internet de l’UBAtc et considérer l’Évaluation Technique Européenne comme ayant été retirée par le titulaire de l’ETA.
À moins que le titulaire de l’ETA ne demande spécifiquement que la publication sur le site internet de l’UBAtc soit maintenue, l’UBAtc retirera les textes ETA de la liste des Évaluations Techniques Européennes publiées 5 ans après la délivrance de ceux-ci.

Où pouvez-vous utiliser une évaluation technique européenne ?

L’accord sur l’Espace économique européen, en vigueur depuis le 1er janvier 1994, couvre l’ensemble de la législation d’harmonisation de l’Union, y compris le règlement sur les produits de construction.
Une évaluation technique européenne est donc applicable dans

  • les États membres de l’Union européenne: Belgique, Bulgarie, Chypre, Danemark, Allemagne, Estonie, Finlande, France, Grèce, Hongrie, Irlande, Italie, Croatie, Lettonie, Lituanie, Luxembourg, Malte, Pays-Bas, Autriche, Pologne, Portugal, Roumanie, Slovénie, Slovaquie, Espagne, République tchèque et Suède; et
  • les États membres de l’Association européenne de libre-échange: l’Islande, le Liechtenstein et la Norvège.

Les échanges bilatéraux de produits entre l’Union européenne et Monaco, Saint-Marin et Andorre sont régis par des accords d’union douanière: Monaco est en union douanière avec la France et fait partie du territoire douanier de l’Union européenne; Saint-Marin et Andorre ont tous deux des accords d’union douanière avec l’Union européenne. La Turquie et l’Union européenne ont établi une union douanière en 1995. En 2006, le Conseil d’association Union européenne – Turquie a adopté une décision désignant les organismes notifiés turcs et reconnaissant les rapports d’essais et les certificats délivrés par ces organismes en Turquie. Les parties ont signé des déclarations confirmant que pour un certain nombre de directives et de règlements nouvelle approche, y compris le règlement sur les produits de construction, la législation turque est équivalente à celle de l’Union européenne. Le système de reconnaissance mutuelle conclu avec la Suisse, qui est entré en vigueur le 1er juin 2002, est un accord global basé sur l’équivalence du droit suisse et européen, qui rend également applicable le règlement suisse sur les produits de construction.

Et le Canada ?

Tous les produits importés et commercialisés dans l’Union européenne doivent être conformes aux réglementations techniques de l’Union européenne, quels que soient les régimes commerciaux préférentiels de l’Union européenne ou les accords commerciaux avec des pays tiers. L’Accord économique et commercial global entre l’Union européenne et le Canada (CETA), qui est partiellement entré en vigueur le 21 septembre 2017, ne prévoit donc pas d’équivalence automatique des règlements techniques. Les produits de construction mis sur le marché européen doivent répondre aux exigences européennes, tout comme les produits vendus sur le marché canadien doivent répondre aux exigences canadiennes. Cependant, le protocole CETA permet aux organismes de certification européens désignés de se certifier par rapport aux exigences canadiennes et d’évaluer les organismes de certification canadiens désignés (organismes notifiés) pour les organismes européens. En bref, une évaluation technique européenne n’est pas valide au Canada.

Et le Royaume-Uni?

La situation qui a suivi le retrait du Royaume-Uni de l’Union européenne crée une situation complexe. C’est pourquoi nous y avons prêté une attention particulière dans les articles ci-dessous.

Le Royaume-Uni a quitté le marché unique et l'union douanière de l'UE

Depuis le 1er janvier 2021, le Royaume-Uni a quitté le marché unique et l'union douanière de l'UE. En conséquence, le Royaume-Uni ne bénéficiera plus du principe de libre circulation des marchandises dans le marché unique de l'UE. Même avec le nouvel accord de commerce et de coopération UE-Royaume-Uni en place, les fabricants seront confrontés à de nouvelles barrières commerciales.

Conséquences de la sortie du Royaume-Uni du marché unique de l'UE et de l'Union douanière pour le marquage de conformité des produits de construction

À l'issue de la période de transition, le 31 décembre 2020, les fabricants et les autres acteurs de la chaîne d'approvisionnement devront peut-être appliquer trois marques de produits différentes. The rules governing these marks will depend on where the product is intended to be used...

Le saviez-vous ?

Le traité et la législation d’harmonisation de l’Union s’appliquent à tous les États membres de l’Union européenne, y compris la Guadeloupe, la Guyane française, la Martinique, la Réunion, Saint-Martin, les Açores, Madère et les îles Canaries.
Cependant, la législation ne s’applique pas aux îles Féroé, au Groenland, à Akrotiri et à Dhekelia, ni aux pays et territoires d’outre-mer entretenant des relations spéciales avec le Royaume-Uni de Grande-Bretagne et d’Irlande du Nord, comme Gibraltar.
La législation d’harmonisation de l’Union ne s’applique pas aux pays et territoires d’outre-mer, en particulier: Nouvelle-Calédonie et dépendances, Polynésie française, Terres australes et antarctiques françaises, Wallis et Futuna, Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon, Saint Barthélemy, Aruba, Curaçao, Saint Martin, Pays-Bas caraïbes (Bonaire, Saba et Saint-Eustache), Anguilla, Îles Caïmans, Îles Falkland, Géorgie du Sud et îles Sandwich du Sud, Montserrat, Îles Pitcairn, Sainte-Hélène et dépendances, Antarctique britannique, Territoire britannique de l’océan Indien, Îles Turques et Caïques, Vierge britannique Îles, Bermudes.

Retour haut de page

Trouvez ce que
vous cherchez

Ce simple module de recherche vous permet de retrouver n'importe quelle type d'information sur le site, que ce soit un ATG, un ETA ou du contenu dans les pages du site...Il vous suffit d'introduire un mot-clé, une référence ATG/ETA, un nom de produit, un fabricant ou un domaine d'application...

Ce simple module de recherche vous permet de retrouver n'importe quelle type d'information sur le site, que ce soit un ATG, un ETA ou du contenu dans les pages du site...Il vous suffit d'introduire un mot-clé, une référence ATG/ETA, un nom de produit, un fabricant ou un domaine d'application...

Trouvez ce que
vous cherchez

Ce simple module de recherche vous permet de retrouver n'importe quelle type d'information sur le site, que ce soit un ATG, un ETA ou du contenu dans les pages du site...Il vous suffit d'introduire un mot-clé, une référence ATG/ETA, un nom de produit, un fabricant ou un domaine d'application...

Ce simple module de recherche vous permet de retrouver n'importe quelle type d'information sur le site, que ce soit un ATG, un ETA ou du contenu dans les pages du site...Il vous suffit d'introduire un mot-clé, une référence ATG/ETA, un nom de produit, un fabricant ou un domaine d'application...