The European Technical Assessment process

To a large extend, the processes that lead to the issuing of a European Technical Assessment have been specified in Regulation (EU) N° 305/2011 and complementary EOTA documents.
The European Technical Assessment process comprises three main steps:

Submission of an application, examination of the admissibility and confirmation of the admissibility

A manufacturer wishing to obtain a European Technical Assessment, should submit an application.

Having received the application, the UBAtc secretariat will contact the applicant, confirming receipt of the application and providing him with a file reference (e.g. AG123412-E). This unique file reference prevents confusion when communicating about a given file.

Simultaneously, the UBAtc secretariat will contact the approval operator responsible for the technical domain that covers the application. Upon the verification performed by the approval operator, amongst others based on the applicant’s technical file, the UBAtc secretariat will inform the applicant through the declaration of admissibility:

  • Whether the product(s) in question may be examined by the approval operator and may lead to the issuing of a European Technical Assessment
  • Whether a European Assessment Document needs to be amended or developed*
  • The specialised group responsible for evaluating the file,
  • The costs for the European Technical Assessment**
  • The approval operator’s employee assigned to take care of the file

* A European Assessment Document can only be developed or an existing one amended if a harmonised standard or an existing European Assessment Document do not cover the product. Therefore, the possibility of issuing a European Technical Assessment can only be confirmed, once the new or amended European Assessment Document has been adopted by EOTA. Consequently, a declaration of admissibility can only be send to the applicant after the adoption of the new or amended European Assessment Document.

** Note: the costs for the European Technical Assessment are not the only costs that need to be taken into account. In addition to the European Technical Assessment costs, the following need to be taken into account:

  • Travel and accommodation costs (in case of production facilities outside Belgium)
  • The costs for the evaluation, in most cases testing, in accordance with the evaluation plan. These costs will be determined by the laboratory or laboratories that perform the evaluation

In order to obtain a total budget, it is advisable to contact the various providers, i.e. the UBAtc and the various laboratories for carrying out performance tests. Any contact you may have with one of our experts before submitting your request may provide you with relevant information to determine a budget


Having received the declaration of admissibility, the applicant should return the signed document to the UBAtc secretariat and the down payment.

The technical examination and the European Technical Assessment circulation process

The signed declaration of admissibility having been returned to the UBAtc secretariat and the down payment paid to the approval operator, the approval operator will study the file and present an evaluation plan. This plan specifies which evaluations need to take place (mostly tests to determine properties and performances) and which information still needs to be made available by the applicant. The evaluation plan is based on the European Assessment Document, adapted in accordance with the needs of the applicant and of the approval operator.

In case a new or amended European Assessment Document needs to be established, the approval operator will determine the content thereof in a work programme which needs to be adopted by EOTA. To prevent unnecessary work, the approval operator will develop the draft European Assessment Document together with the work programme. Once the work programme has been adopted, the European Assessment Document also needs to be made available to the other EOTA members. Consensus needs to be achieved at European level, before the European Assessment Document can be considered as adopted by EOTA. Having been adopted by EOTA, the European Commission also needs to accept the content of the European Assessment Document.

Once the applicant and the approval operator agree upon the evaluation plan, the approval operator will visit the production facility or facilities. This visit will, amongst others, be used to establish the control plan, i.e. an overview of verifications and tests that the ETA-holder needs to implement in the production facility or facilities. During this visit, the approval operator will perform sampling or have sampling performed under his responsibility. The applicant is responsible for ensuring that the necessary evaluation takes place. It is likely that the approval operator sets criteria with regards to the laboratory where the evaluation may take place (e.g. the laboratory will probably have to be accredited). In some cases, the approval operator may also require one or several site visits to see how the product or system is installed, executed, incorporated or assembled.

When the necessary inspections and evaluations have taken place, the approval operator will collect all the necessary reports and summarize those in an evaluation report. The evaluation report is the basis for the development of the (draft) European Technical Assessment text.
The (draft) European Technical Assessment text will be presented in a committee of experts with regards to the subject of the application (the operator’s executive board). This committee of independent experts treats all the information comprised in the evaluation report and the draft European Technical Assessment text confidentially. The outcome of discussions that take place in the executive board may lead to a favourable outcome, which means that the (draft) European Technical Assessment text will be presented to the operator’s specialized group, or may lead to further evaluation that needs to take place or additional information that the applicant needs to make available.

Having been discussed by the executive board, the approval operator will forward the (draft) European technical Assessment text to the UBAtc secretariat. The UBAtc secretariat will circulate the (draft) European technical Assessment for a one-month enquiry period during which other EOTA members may submit comments. The approval operator will normally try to take into account comments made by other EOTA member bodies before considering the European Technical Assessment text final. It is possible that – due to comments received – the file needs to be reconsidered by the executive board.

Once accepted by the executive board, the (draft) European Technical Assessment text may be presented to the committee of representatives of the relevant stakeholders of the (sub)sector with regards to the subject of the application (the operator’s specialised group).

Publication and assessment and verification of the constancy of performance (AVCP)

Once approved by the approval operator the (draft) European Technical Assessment will be forwarded by the approval operator to the UBAtc secretariat. Having checked the document to ensure that its format satisfies the requirements of the UBAtc, the UBAtc secretariat will forward the text to the applicant for proof reading. Where necessary taking into account comments submitted by the applicant, the document is finally signed by the management of the approval operator and the UBAtc and published on the UBAtc website.

When the European Technical Assessment has been published, in accordance with Regulation (EU) N° 305/2011, the holder of the European Technical Assessment needs to draw up a declaration of performance (the ‘DoP’) before affixing the CE marking on his products. The ETA-holder is only entitled to draw up a declaration of performance if the requirements regarding assessment and verification of the constancy of performance have been fulfilled, which may involve a third party, i.e. a notified body. The requirements regarding assessment and verification of the constancy of performance will be specified in the European Assessment Document, which may be further specified in the European Technical Assessment and the control plan which is agreed upon between the approval operator and the holder of the European Technical Assessment.

Scroll to Top

Find what you are
looking for

This simple search module allows you to find any information on the site, such as ATG, ETA or content in the pages of the site... All you have to do is enter a keyword, an ATG/ETA reference, a product name, a manufacturer or the domain of application...

This simple search module allows you to find any information on the site, such as ATG, ETA or content in the pages of the site... All you have to do is enter a keyword, an ATG/ETA reference, a product name, a manufacturer or the domain of application...

Le processus d'Évaluation Technique Européenne

Dans une large mesure, les processus menant à la délivrance d’une évaluation technique européenne ont été spécifiés dans le règlement (UE) n° 305/2011 et dans les documents complémentaires de l’EOTA.
Le processus d’évaluation technique européenne comprend trois étapes principales :

Introduction d'une demande, examen de la recevabilité et confirmation de la recevabilité

Un fabricant souhaitant obtenir une évaluation technique européenne, doit soumettre une demande.

Après avoir reçu la demande, le secrétariat de l’UBAtc contactera le demandeur, lui confirmant la réception de la demande et lui fournissant une référence de dossier (par exemple AG123412-E). Cette référence de fichier unique évite toute confusion lors de la communication sur un fichier donné.

Simultanément, le secrétariat de l’UBAtc prendra contact avec l’opérateur d’agrément responsable du domaine technique qui couvre la demande. Lors de la vérification effectuée par l’opérateur d’agrément, notamment sur la base du dossier technique du demandeur, le secrétariat de l’UBAtc donnera au demandeur par la déclaration de recevabilité les informations suivantes :

  • Le ou les produits en question peuvent-ils être examin,s par l’opérateur et si cela peut conduire à la délivrance d’une évaluation technique européenne,
  • Si un Document d’Évaluation Européen doit être modifié ou développé*,,
  • Le groupe spécialisé chargé d’évaluer le dossier,
  • Les frais de l’évaluation technique européenne**,
  • L’employé de l’opérateur d’agrément chargé de prendre en charge le dossier

Un document d’évaluation européen ou un document existant modifié ne peut être élaboré que si une norme harmonisée ou un document d’évaluation européen existant ne couvre pas le produit. Par conséquent, la possibilité de délivrer une évaluation technique européenne ne peut être confirmée qu’une fois que le document d’évaluation européen nouveau ou modifié a été adopté par l’EOTA. Par conséquent, une déclaration de recevabilité ne peut être envoyée au demandeur qu’après l’adoption du document d’évaluation européen nouveau ou modifié.

Remarque: les frais de l’évaluation technique européenne ne sont pas les seuls coûts à prendre en compte. En effet, la procédure prévoyant un audit, en plus des frais d’évaluation technique européenne, les éléments suivants doivent être pris en compte :

  • Les frais de voyage et de séjour (en cas de lieux de production situés en dehors de la Belgique)
  • les coûts de l’évaluation, dans la plupart des cas des tests, conformément au plan d’évaluation. Ces coûts seront déterminés par le ou les laboratoires qui effectuent les essais

Afin d’obtenir un budget global, il est conseillé de prendre contact avec les différents prestataires, à savoir l’UBAtc et les différents laboratoires. Tout contact que vous pourriez avoir avec l’un de nos experts avant de soumettre votre demande peut vous fournir des informations pertinentes pour déterminer un ordre de grandeur du budget.

Après avoir reçu la déclaration de recevabilité, le demandeur doit retourner le document signé au secrétariat de l’UBAtc et verser l’acompte.

L'examen technique et le processus de diffusion de l’Évaluation Technique Européenne

La déclaration de recevabilité signée ayant été renvoyée au secrétariat de l’UBAtc et l’acompte versé à l’opérateur d’agrément, l’opérateur étudiera le dossier et présentera un plan d’évaluation. Ce plan précise quelles évaluations doivent avoir lieu (principalement des essais pour déterminer les propriétés et les performances) et quelles informations doivent encore être mises à disposition par le demandeur. Le plan d’évaluation est basé sur le document d’évaluation européen, adapté en fonction des besoins du demandeur et de l’opérateur d’agrément.

Au cas où un document d’évaluation européen nouveau ou modifié doit être établi, l’opérateur d’agrément déterminera le contenu dans un programme de travail qui doit être adopté par l’EOTA. Pour éviter tout travail inutil, l’opérateur d’agrément élaborera le projet de document d’évaluation européen en même temps que le programme de travail. Une fois le programme de travail adopté, le document d’évaluation européen doit également être mis à la disposition des autres membres de l’EOTA. Un consensus doit être atteint au niveau européen, avant que le document d’évaluation européen puisse être considéré comme adopté par l’EOTA. Ayant été adopté par l’EOTA, la Commission européenne doit également accepter le contenu du document d’évaluation européen.

Une fois que le demandeur et l’opérateur d’agrément se sont mis d’accord sur le plan d’évaluation, l’opérateur d’agrément visitera la ou les installation(s) de production. Cette visite servira, entre autres, à établir le plan de contrôle, c’est-à-dire un aperçu des vérifications et des essais que le titulaire de l’ETE doit mettre en œuvre dans la ou les installation(s) de production. Lors de cette visite, l’opérateur d’agrément procédera à un échantillonnage ou fera réaliser un échantillonnage sous sa responsabilité. Le demandeur est responsable de prendre ses dispositions afin que l’évaluation nécessaire ait lieu. Il est probable que l’opérateur d’agrément fixe des critères en ce qui concerne le laboratoire où les essais peuvent avoir lieu (par exemple, le laboratoire devra probablement être accrédité). Dans certains cas, l’opérateur d’agrément peut également exiger une ou plusieurs visites sur site pour voir comment le produit ou le système est installé, exécuté, incorporé ou assemblé.

Lorsque les inspections et évaluations nécessaires ont eu lieu, l’opérateur d’agrément rassemblera tous les rapports nécessaires et les résumera dans un rapport d’évaluation. Le rapport d’évaluation est la base de l’élaboration du (projet) de texte d’évaluation technique européenne.
Le (projet) de texte d’évaluation technique européenne sera présenté dans un comité d’experts en en la matière (le bureau exécutif de l’opérateur). Ce comité d’experts indépendants traite toutes les informations contenues dans le rapport d’évaluation et le projet de texte d’évaluation technique européenne de manière confidentielle. Le résultat des discussions qui ont lieu au sein du comité exécutif peut conduire à un résultat favorable, ce qui signifie que le (projet) de texte d’évaluation technique européenne peut être présenté au groupe spécialisé de l’opérateur. Dans le cas contrainte, une évaluation plus approfondie ou des informations complémentaires seront demandées.

Après avoir été discuté par le bureau exécutif, l’opérateur d’agrément transmettra le (projet) texte d’évaluation technique européenne au secrétariat de l’UBAtc. Le secrétariat de l’UBAtc diffusera le (projet) d’évaluation technique européenne pour une période d’enquête d’un mois au cours de laquelle d’autres membres de l’EOTA pourront soumettre des commentaires. L’opérateur d’agrément essaiera normalement de prendre en compte les commentaires formulés par d’autres membres de l’EOTA avant de considérer le texte d’évaluation technique européenne comme final. Il est possible qu’en raison des commentaires reçus, le dossier doive être reconsidéré par le bureau exécutif.

Une fois accepté par le bureau exécutif, le (projet) de texte d’évaluation technique européenne peut être présenté au comité des représentants des parties prenantes concernées du (sous) secteur en ce qui concerne l’objet de la demande (le groupe spécialisé de l’opérateur).

La publication, l’évaluation et la vérification de la constance des performances (AVCP)

Une fois approuvée par l’opérateur d’agrément le (projet), de texte d’évaluation technique européenne est transmis par l’opérateur d’agrément au secrétariat de l’UBAtc. Après avoir vérifié le document pour s’assurer que son format répond aux exigences de l’UBAtc, le secrétariat de l’UBAtc transmettra le texte au demandeur pour relecture. Le cas échéant, compte tenu des commentaires soumis par le demandeur, le document est finalement signé par la direction de l’opérateur d’agrément et l’UBAtc et publié sur le site Internet de l’UBAtc.

Lorsque l’évaluation technique européenne a été publiée, conformément au règlement (UE) n° 305/2011, le titulaire de l’évaluation technique européenne doit rédiger une déclaration de performance (la « DoP ») avant d’apposer le marquage CE sur son des produits. Le titulaire de l’ETA n’est autorisé à établir une déclaration de performance que si les exigences relatives à l’évaluation et vérification de la constance des performances ont été remplies, ce qui peut impliquer un tiers, c’est-à-dire un organisme notifié. Les exigences relatives à l’évaluation et vérification de la constance des performances seront spécifiées dans le document d’évaluation européen, qui peut être précisé plus en détail dans l’évaluation technique européenne et le plan de contrôle convenu entre l’opérateur d’agrément et le titulaire de l’évaluation technique européenne.

Retour haut de page

Find what you are
looking for

This simple search module allows you to find any information on the site, such as ATG, ETA or content in the pages of the site... All you have to do is enter a keyword, an ATG/ETA reference, a product name, a manufacturer or the domain of application...

This simple search module allows you to find any information on the site, such as ATG, ETA or content in the pages of the site... All you have to do is enter a keyword, an ATG/ETA reference, a product name, a manufacturer or the domain of application...

Trouvez ce que
vous cherchez

Ce simple module de recherche vous permet de retrouver n'importe quelle type d'information sur le site, que ce soit un ATG, un ETA ou du contenu dans les pages du site...Il vous suffit d'introduire un mot-clé, une référence ATG/ETA, un nom de produit, un fabricant ou un domaine d'application...

Ce simple module de recherche vous permet de retrouver n'importe quelle type d'information sur le site, que ce soit un ATG, un ETA ou du contenu dans les pages du site...Il vous suffit d'introduire un mot-clé, une référence ATG/ETA, un nom de produit, un fabricant ou un domaine d'application...